Vote 200

Now I have been seeing signs all around the village regarding “Vote yes on D200” or “Vote No on D220” and personally I wondered what the hell it was. So I first went to Facebook and found two Facebook pages dedicated to two separate movements to approve and construct a new pool and to fight against the construction of a new pool for Oak park, Il and River Forest, Il. Personally I did not give a shit because I do not swim, and furthermore the idea of wading in a public cesspool of chlorine-drenched, pissed filled water does not excite me.

Before I go on here are the Facebook pages for each:

Either way I hate to own property in this fucking village, and I am glad that I rent, so I have the option to leave. But on August 1st at a special meeting Oak Park, Il’s District 200 school board voted to install a pool, from what I understand without too much resident feedback. Then on August 16th they voted on a cheaper plan either way why these kids need a pool when parking and other things are major issues in the village and not every resident has kids, wasting taxpayer dollars on this is beyond me. Considering that the plan will raise taxes up to $190 per year in some way who really gives a shit.

I do have to mention that there are three plans floating around and plan B (plan dos) has a mention of a parking garage which would stoke anyone with a parking hangover from the poor city planning of Oak Park, IL. However, it does mean that even the school board acknowledges the parking issues in Oak Park, Il so why building a pool is in the best interest of the village is beyond me. In fact, there is a pending referendum coming up to be voted on, since a majority of the residents do not like any of the plans as mentioned in a recent article on the subject I wonder why anyone in the leading government bodies in Oak Park, IL is letting it get this far?

Oh I forgot this is Oak Park, Il and it majors in focusing upon the unreasonable, and the unimportant, give me a friggin referendum on the Nov 8th ballot about construction of some parking garages around the village and see what happens. To me this is just an exercise in poor judgment. Classic Oak Park, IL.

This is the article I previously mentioned regarding the parking garage/pool construction: http://www.oakpark.com/News/Articles/8-2-2016/Fight-ahead-after-D200-board-chooses-pool-plan-/

Leave a Reply

