24 hour Parking stickers in Oak Park, IL

One of the biggest problems in Oak Park, Il is of course parking. Second to that then is getting the sticker for your car in person, and do not do what I did and try to fall for their pure bullshit campaign of attempting to get the coveted: 24-hour-park-anywhere-in-your-zone sticker! I did once and what a fool was I! The line reached out the door of the municipal/village building, and I was there at 6am in the morning trying to get the elusive 24-hour sticker. Again this is Oak Park, IL spreading the illusion of a sticker that normal residents cannot get. In fact, my neighbor works for the village and he has a 24 sticker on his car, I have also noticed a few people with 24-hour stickers wearing clothes that have an Oak Park departmental logo on them. Meaning, they, the owners of the vehicles with the

Again this is Oak Park, IL spreading the illusion of a sticker that normal residents cannot get. In fact, my neighbor works for the village and he has a 24 sticker on his car, I have also noticed a few people with 24-hour stickers wearing clothes that have an Oak Park departmental logo on them. Meaning, they, the owners of the vehicles with the 24-hour stickers, work for the village so employees get first come no one served??

At this point like any sane person, I am trying to get the hell away from such craziness and away from here if I can. Hopefully, I am wrong and some residents who do not work for the village or have no relatives that do actually get this elusive sticker but everywhere I drive I see automobiles with either a “Night” sticker or a “Day” sticker (or even both) that’s it, making this 24-hour sticker very unique.

Why would the village even sell these stickers when it goes against some of the parking rules in certain areas? When it puts a spotlight on the stupidity of having the streets clear but for one or two cars at night?

When I paid for my sticker the cashier made a joke that “Oak Park is known as No Park, but that’s not true…” I am starting to think she was lying to me! Because if the lack of these 24-hour stickers are an indication of anything it just emphasizes the lack of common sense for zoning, and parking restrictions in Oak Park, IL, plus it shows that there is preferential treatment for a select few. Obviously, by all the other opinion pieces out there, I am not the only one that thinks this a mess, comment as you like.

PS: I would like to really know if someone who (again) not related to a city worker got one of those 24-hour stickers!

car

Leave a Reply

