Fu(king Rude kids stepping on my feet in Oak Park, IL

I see that there is a spike in crime around Oak Park, IL so I wonder why do parents let their kids walk around without teaching them to focus their attention upon their environment instead of their I-pad or I-phone? God, I sound like my father! But you have seen tons of these kids just walking down the street, oblivious to the world around them. I drive down the street and these kids are simply walking across the street nearly getting hit because they (and the driver) are not paying attention.

In a time when grown adults are getting beaten for their electronics on the Blue Line “L” you would think the parent of Oak Park, IL would tell their kids a thing or two about the world. There is no need to racially profile because color is not equal to the deciding if an individual is a criminal or not. Just a couple of minutes of telling these kids that they need to pay attention as they walk down the street, so that their kids do not become a statistic.

I had one kid walk straight down the street towards me, I walked a little left so did they, walked right they walked right, all the while looking down into their I-phone. Of course ,they nearly walked into me, as if they saw me for the first time, my first thought was if this was a scene out of a movie I probably just got pickpocketed! But no alas they did not even know I was there. I have seen kids walk down the street with their parents having to tell them to look up or pay attention.

I have even been stepped on by a little teenager in the Walgreens on Lake street because the little girl was skyping on her phone, I mean come on! I know it’s your status “symbol” but there is no need to: 1. Step on me, 2. Be skyping about your private conversation in a public place loudly, 3. Step on me 4. Not pay attention to your immediate environment and 5. Step on me! Now, I am all about social media but I do not want to get a beat down because I was that easy a target, or that I made the device that enticing to some nutcase.

Now yes, you should be able to walk down the street without worrying, in theory, but with the way Chicago has become crime central, who has nine lives to put that theory to the test? Parents in the area need to tell their kids to put their devices away and pay attention especially to people who are just walking down the street or are walking down the same aisle in the store as they are. I doubt this would happen because the residents, the parents of these special mini-mes are drinking the Kool-Aid Oak Park, IL is serving.

Believing that this is one of the safest places in the area and probably the world is not reality nor does it not help these young’uns to enter the real world. All this acceptance of false safety, acceptance of public display of one’s wealth or withdrawal from the rest of one’s immediate environment just leads to increased chance for their children to become a crime statistic. At the end of the day, I hope these kids learn their lesson the easy way, instead of the hard way, and quit stepping on my ass.

Am I alone seeing the kids of Oak Park, Il walking around focusing on nothing but the electronic device (I-phone, phone, I -pad, etc.,)? Have you been stepped on or ran into but these little omniscient gnomes of travel?

Leave a Reply

